Difficult Nights and the fun stuff

Occasionally we have night, like the night before thanksgiving, that make me question my sanity. I am sure every parent has those nights where they end up going on three hours of sleep the next day due to being up half the night with a sick little lovie or because of nightmares or whatever, but not every parent knows the wonderful joys of having to clean up peptamine from tubing that has pulled free. Not every parent has to deal with the sickeningly sweet smell of feeding tube fluid all over their child and their child’s bed. Let me tell you… it is none too pleasant. The resulting panic of a child brought up from sleep by the cold wet stickiness is not fun to deal with either. At those moments, the only thing you can do is draw a quick bath, get the mess cleaned up then settle in for a good long snuggle to calm down your hysterical child. 

 

As hard as some days and nights are, I look back on my life and see just how incomplete I was before my boys came along. It’s very hard being a parent, but being a caretaker of a sick child makes being a parent even harder. I don’t begrudge a moment of it, though. I wouldn’t miss out on all the giggles, all the silly moments, all the new words and all the hugs. When the rough nights come, just remember they lead to new and better days. Just hang in there.

Leave a comment